Thoughts On Article “Perfect FOREX Portfolio”

1 replies

qattack

Customer, bbp_participant, community, 44 replies.

Visit profile

8 years ago #113890

I read the article “Perfect FOREX Portfolio” and have some ideas about this. I haven’t purchased StrategyQuant yet, but plan to in six weeks or so, assuming my budget remains intact.

I am a newb to FOREX trading and I can only draw off my experience playing poker professionally for the last 20 years and sports betting (which I failed due to selection process, but my wagering is sound if I know the expected probabilities.)

In poker, you theoretically “never” pass on a +EV situation, no matter how small. There are practical exceptions, but this rule is correct when you are properly bankrolled and you have your full attention focused on a single game (versus playing 16 tables on the Internet).

With FOREX trading, if you use something similar to Kelly Criterion, wouldn’t the optimal strategy be to have as many EA rules as possible? And by that I mean 1000 rules. (I’m neglecting the management nightmare here–just brainstorming)

Unlike poker (but similar to sports betting), you can divide your “wagers” almost infinitely as a percentage of your bankroll. Most of these, of course, would have lower R.O.I. and higher drawdown.

This allows you to “bet” more when your edge is larger and less when smaller. of course, if the R.O.I. and resulting wager are too small, depending on your bankroll, it may not be worth your time to develop the rule in the first place.

But by placing an incredibly high number of wagers (using a correct wagering scheme), extreme drawdown for each individual strategy is mitigated and relatively insignificant.

I have not yet purchased StrategyQuant and this post may have been for naught if rule development and testing times are lengthy, but the rule should hold: the more strategies the better (when paired with a correct wagering plan).