Genetic, “directed genetic”, CRISPR, fuzzy?

5 replies

Rom

Customer, bbp_participant, community, 29 replies.

Visit profile

8 years ago #114989

I am relatively new to the concept of algorithmic trading so there is a great likelihood that I am missing some crucial points.  

The workflows discussed in the manuals and distilled from different threads on the forum is more or less as follows:

look at the price chart > try to spot some regularities >  try to formalize the observation > develop the system > test, etc.  

OR 

add indicator(s) > try to spot regularities, and so on as above..  

Another approach is brut force — it may take some, possibly very long, time to stumble on something worthwhile. 

Another is to implement genetic algorithm. Depending on the conditions chosen and on the underlying engine, the result will be better or worse. 

All of the above strive to combine a few principles, primarily that the  resulting formalization (i.e., the rule) has to be generalized description of the curve formed by prices in order to avoid overfilling , and the superimposed money and risk management principles.

Those tasks are difficult.  Additionally, it seems to me that it is even more difficult to aim for the rules describing trends spanning days, while it is  a bit easier to come up with some solution for shorter time fluctuations. 

Is it feasible to reverse (or modify) that workflow?  Basically it would look as follows.