Problem with backtesting using QuantDataManager

15 replies

Roman Mueller

Subscriber, bbp_participant, 11 replies.

Visit profile

7 months ago #277026

Hello.

I am new to this and using QuantDataManager for the first time.

I would like to backtest a strategy using Tick Data downloaded by QuantDataManager for the German Dax Index.

I therefor installed a fresh new copy of the MT4 Platform and connected to a Demo Account created for Dukascopy.

This got me with MT4 creating all the symbols/instruments files.

Now there are two problems I see.

Using the QuantDataManager the symbol name for one of the files it creates is for example  “DEUIDXEUR30.hst” while MT4 after first time having connected to the demo account it created files like “DEU.IDX30.hst” instead.

So there is a mismatch in the name.

Now when switching to the MT4 Strategy Tester I do not even see the “DEU.IDX” as a symbol that I could select for starting a test.

Now how do I get my the MT4 installation to detect the symbol needed while using the right type of data for running the backtest. So the data exported from QuantDataManager for the Dax and not the data MT4 retrieved automatically after first connecting to the broker’s demo server?

Roman Mueller

Visit profile

7 months ago #277054

I have now tried using GBP/USD instead because here the symbol name at least seems to match up with the broker’s one of the demo server.

But running a sample EA from the strategy tester now results in no orders are opened.

From the Journal Tab it just says.

2022.04.05 15:04:28.744 TestGenerator: file “C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming\MetaQuotes\Terminal\5FD1EFE7C0E8FF211F687AD172837AEB\tester\history\GBPUSD1_0.fxt” is read-only
2022.04.05 15:04:28.744 Expert Moving Average GBPUSD,M1: loaded successfully

tomas262

Administrator, sq-ultimate, 1 replies.

Visit profile

7 months ago #277067

Hello,