Trying to make strategies for Gold but something is wrong…

4 replies

alanhere

Subscriber, customer, community, bbp_participant, sq-ultimate, 87 replies.

Visit profile

3 years ago #271180

Hi Team,

Hope you all are well. I’ve decided to work on strategies for other instruments and turned my head to Gold. Now, I’ve been building strategies for Forex pairs for a few years and am able to generate strategies which match that of the Metatrader backtests and also live trading.

However, with Gold.. I feel I’ve become a beginner again and for the life of me, I can’t figure it out! I assumed it was spreads so have tried adjusting these but it’s not making any difference.. the Metatrader backtests with TDS are completely different to what I’m seeing in SQ.

StrategyTester results (2018 with Tick Data Suite):

I include all source files – sqx, ex4, mq4

Any ideas what I’m doing wrong here? Why is there such a big difference?

Attachments:
You must be logged in to view attached files.

hankeys

Customer, bbp_participant, community, sq-ultimate, 487 replies.

Visit profile

2 years ago #271300

GOLD is not an easy market, you need to know what you are doing, because it has different price values

so you need to set the data correctly, what piptick step and size you are using? how many decimal points has GOLD on your trading platform – there are brokers mostly with 2 decimal points, but some of them has 3 decimal gold – this is the first crucial thing

from pseudo code i see, that your strategy is using very low SL/TP values – like 40 or 90 pips – but gold is moving in thousands pips if you are using 0.01/0.01 setting for piptick size and step

spread 12 and no commisions? very low values for me

why you are building nonsymmetric strategy?