Comparison of Tickdatasuite backtests and SQ tests

9 replies

lsburrows

Customer, bbp_participant, community, 6 replies.

Visit profile

8 years ago #113994

I have been using Tickdatasuite for backtesting using Dukascopy data for several years with excellent results.  I am now running an evaluation between  Tickdatasuite results using Dukascopy data and SQ results using the same data.  Has anyone else performed the same exercise?

felipebr

Customer, bbp_participant, community, 18 replies.

Visit profile

8 years ago #131606

Hi, I’m getting very mixed results… even after read the SQ user help, finding answers in this forum and trying some different ways to import. I’m not getting reliable results from SQ to MT4 backtests. I already send e-mail to support and I will post here when I figure it out.

kzfx

Customer, bbp_participant, community, 30 replies.

Visit profile

8 years ago #131653

I have been using TDS (Tick Data Suite) for four years and SQ for a couple of months. Well, results from TDS and SQ using Dukascopy data can differ in a few ways. Results are approximately the same very often, but sometimes quite different. For example, a strategy with an excellent result in SQ turns to be incapable in TDS. I don’t figure out why this kind of thing sometimes happens, but it may be due to the logic – combination of indicators, rules, etc.

felipebr

Visit profile

8 years ago #131655

Hi kzfx, if we can’t generate strategies and compare with Tick data how to validate the strategy ? How will we know if even the optimizations are right ? Tomas, can you cleary it please ?

kzfx

Visit profile

8 years ago #131656

Hi felipebr,