Lucca’s approach and goals

5 replies

Gui

Customer, bbp_participant, community, 59 replies.

Visit profile

7 years ago #115403

Greetings fellow users,

I am a new SQ user, and I would like to first thank the SQ team and the proactive members of this community. Some comments and discussions are purely amazing and taught me a lot.

I have been a discretionary trader for over 10 years, a hobby that costed me so far a lot less than women, alcohol and golf ;). I would like to step up my game by using automated trading to free myself some time and put my experience to practice in a more controllable emotional environment.

Based on my past experience and during the trial period, also with the discussions on the forum, I drew my guideline.

My goal:

– To have a large capital (100-200k), and not to use a leverage above 3.

– I consider an EA robust once it went through to all the stages: retest/1M data/ other curency and time frame, MC (500 runs),

– The WFM (as Mark example) is the final filter.

– When I retest on different symbols, to check if the EA stays in the positive territory.

– I target EAs with an annual return of 20% to 40%, and a R/DD>2.

– I account for risk based on the MC results.

– Any sharp ratio above 2 or ecellent results are alerts to look into curve fittings and I hence test it more.

– I believe once the EAs have a positive expectancy, the key to profitability resides in Portfolio management (diversification, asset correlations) and not the EA itself.

– I use dukascopy data, set on GMT, and manually change the time on the EA mq4 itself, because I have many brokers, on different time frames.

– My portfolio consist mainly of 1H timeframe, with a minority of 4h and 30m strategies. EAs are weighted based on the risk assessed during MC tests.

The reality now…