Quant Editor article: Add new statistical value – comments

3 replies

AC1962

Customer, bbp_participant, community, sq-ultimate, 97 replies.

Visit profile

7 years ago #116423

Hi Mark

I am a complete novice at writing code and using Quant Editor, but I’ve today worked through QE article ‘Add new statistical value‘ and have the following comments:

1. Strictly following Section 3 results in a compilation error. Suggested VRatio() code is cause of error:
   setName(L.t(“VRatio”));
   setTooltip(L.t(“VRatio”));
Whereas using default code of:
   setName(“VRatio”);
   setTooltip(“VRatio”); 
results in successful compilation. Is this change in code correct?

2. Strictly following Section 3 results in a compilation error. Suggested getValue() code of ‘getCorrectPlType(plType)’ is cause of error. Looking at other files, they all appear to use ‘getGlobalPlType(plType)’ instead. This allows for successful compilation. Is this change in code correct?

3. Where can I obtain full listing of ‘StatsConst’ values that can be defined, so that I can attempt to define my own ratios?

Otherwise using QE worked well for me.

Thanks 
AC1962

AC1962

Visit profile

7 years ago #141957

Hi Mark

Further to my post above: Item 3. I have subsequently found the listing of available ‘class constants’ on web page: https://strategyquant.com/doc/article/statsvalues-constants.html

One of the listed class constants I wish to use is: DEGREES_OF_FREEDOM. However, this class constant currently returns ‘0’ value for all my strategies loaded into QA, although within SQ a non-zero value for statistic ‘Degrees Of Freedom’ is given for each strategy. Please can you investigate and confirm what has gone wrong and why QA is currently returning ‘0’ value for DEGREES_OF_FREEDOM?

Thanks

AC1962

Mark Fric

Administrator, sq-ultimate, 2 replies.

Visit profile

7 years ago #142040

Hello,