Difference in results between account and report

5 replies

dimit

Subscriber, bbp_participant, community, 3 replies.

Visit profile

8 years ago #114910

Hi to all

I am new to Quant Analyzer and I am still testing it and try to get accustomed to it.

I have noticed the following.  

On MT4 I see a loss in my account.  On a live signal monitoring the account I see also a loss.

On Quant analyzer I see profit.  (The report is based on the history of the account since opened).

Also the draw-down values are different as well as other values.

Why is that?

Since I thought that the differences maybe had to do with the fact that the account is currently running and trading, or with the fact that the report is only for a 2 day period (the account is new, but this should not affect the results), I have loaded a 10 year back testing result.

Some values were the same, some were different on the 2nd decimal (acceptable I suppose due to the rounding method used by MT4 and Analyzer which might be different) and some were totally different like the DD% the Average consecutive wins the Average consecutive losses.  

Please note the value of Average consecutive Total losses in the Analyzer. The difference is huge from the value of the MT4 backtesting report.  And this is a very simple calculation. The results should have been identical.  

Why all these differences?

mabi

Customer, bbp_participant, community, 261 replies.

Visit profile

8 years ago #135944

Hard to know but usually I found that it is because some trades are opened and closed intra bar. Here is a link describing this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ISgsISB16Uc

dimit

Visit profile

8 years ago #135949

Thx

MT4 does not have this option for LIBB.Also,most scalping EAs keep (the majority of the orders they place) in trade for just a few seconds. The minimum resolution of back testing in MT4 is 1M.

This guy describe exactly the same thing as you did mabi.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfqXO2-NzcM