Best Genetic Options

21 replies

Oliver

Customer, bbp_participant, community, sq-ultimate, 121 replies.

Visit profile

4 years ago #255205

Im really unsure of what difference all these options mean and do. can anyone explain the effect of changing the numbers on each of these options. im trying to understand how i can build strategies far quicker that meet my acceptance criteria. i used to have 100 max generations and 100 population size with 4 islands and the rest the same but it would take almost a week for GBPUSD strategies to land in my results of say 500. then i would set about doing all my robustness tests. except for the higher precision test on m1 data.

I would need these explaining in lamen terms as im not really technically minded.

thanks in advance

hankeys

Customer, bbp_participant, community, sq-ultimate, 487 replies.

Visit profile

4 years ago #255207

why do you change the default settings? you can live with them…did you read what is behind the HELP button?

why do you use max generation as 1? – the genetic algorith has no room to evolve – it will end in the start – THIS IS THE BASICS

my most used settings looks like this

Attachments:
You must be logged in to view attached files.

You want to be a profitable algotrader? We started using StrateQuant software in early 2014. For now we have a very big knowhow for building EAs for every possible types of markets. We share this knowhow, apps, tools and also all final strategies with real traders. If you want to join us, fill in the FORM.

hankeys

Visit profile

4 years ago #255208

every setting counts and you need what you are doing, but after you read the HELP, there is nothing more to explain…its simple