Building – Money Management

4 replies

David Turner

Subscriber, bbp_participant, customer, community, sq-ultimate, 9 replies.

Visit profile

1 year ago #280866

Hi there,

A newbie here.

I’ve been following the StrategyLab course exactly for now as I get used to the software and ended up with six strategies on GBPUSH H1.

If I retest those with two different money management settings, I obviously get two sets of results. I’ve been testing using 0.1 fixed lots as per the course, and then also doing the same test but using 1% of balance.

The 1% of balance results are a lot worse with “profit factor” dropping and also Ret/DD dropping significantly.

When I try building a strategy with 1% of balance MM, I end up with none because the additional tests wipes them all out. From seeing the numbers change, I believe I’d need to do robustness tests using different parameters – or something else? So, how do I build a strategy that can use 1% of balance and have a clear robustness check list to pass it through?

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Dave

David Turner

Visit profile

1 year ago #280867

Had a further thought on this…

Since Profit Factor is calculated using win/lose percentage rate and the avg win/loss amount. If an account is growing, the amount won and lost would of course because the amount of money risked on the trade (1% of the balance) would increase and as such the loss amount would increase.

Therefore, is a “profit factor” calculated on a strategy over say 16 years affected by variables such as the if there’s an increase in the number of trades in year 16 compared to year 1 where the balance is very different?

Am I overthinking this? Or is there a better way to assess / robust filter strategies using 1% of balance instead of fixed lot size?

tomas262

Administrator, sq-ultimate, 2 replies.

Visit profile

1 year ago #280938

Hi,